BBy Bikram Nath·Researched from UK Amazon listings·Updated 2026-10-23·6 products compared
Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. This guide contains Amazon affiliate links, and we may earn a commission — at no extra cost to you — but it never changes our rankings.
Ryanair’s own rules
Rule
In Ryanair’s words
Free small bag
“All fares include one small personal bag (40 x 30 x 20 cm) that must fit under the seat.”
Priority & 2 Cabin Bags option
“This allows you to carry a small personal bag (40 x 30 x 20 cm), which must fit under the seat in front of you and a 10kg bag (55x40x20cm) onboard, to be stored in the overhead locker.”
Quoted from Ryanair’s Bag Policy, checked ; Ryanair last edited that page on 5 February 2026. Rules can change: check with Ryanair before you fly.
What are the best Ryanair cabin bags 40x30x20 to buy in the UK?
Our top pick for Ryanair Cabin Bags 40x30x20 in the UK is the VANKEV 24L Cabin Bag Travel Backpack 40x30x20.
Suits a traveller with a laptop up to 16 inches who wants a 24L bag listed at 40 x 30 x 20 cm, the size of Ryanair's free under-seat bag.
Ryanair's free small bag, the one that goes under the seat in front, is 40x30x20 cm, and our top pick at that size is the VANKEV 24L Cabin Bag Travel Backpack, listed at 40 x 30 x 20 cm with a 24L capacity, a laptop compartment for up to 16 inches and water-resistant fabric. If you want a stated warranty, the Cabin Max 24L Underseat Travel Backpack lists a 3 year manufacturer's warranty; if you travel with a wheeled suitcase and a 14-inch laptop, the Lossga lists a built-in luggage trolley strap and a 14-inch laptop compartment.
This guide compares six under-seat backpacks from VANKEV, Cabin Max, Lossga, VSNOON, Taygeer and Xkdoai, each listed at 40 x 30 x 20 cm, using what each listing states: capacity, laptop compartment, fabric, trolley strap and warranty. Stated laptop compartments run from 14 inches (Lossga, Xkdoai) to up to 16 inches (VANKEV), and the Cabin Max listing does not mention one. Five listings state a capacity of 24L; the Taygeer listing does not state a capacity.
Buying guide
What should you look for in Ryanair Cabin Bags 40x30x20?
1Size: a soft bag stuffed full can exceed its listed size, so measure it packed. Lossga gives a 2–3 cm margin of error from manual measurement, and Xkdoai gives its fully packed size as approximately 40×30×20 cm with a 2-3 cm tolerance. Cabin Max lists compression straps, and the Xkdoai listing says the bag can be compressed a little from the side.
2Capacity: VANKEV, Lossga and VSNOON state 24L, Cabin Max a 24-litre interior and Xkdoai 24 Litres. The Taygeer listing does not state a capacity.
3Laptop: VANKEV lists a laptop compartment for up to 16 inches, Taygeer 15.6 inch, VSNOON 15 inch, and Lossga and Xkdoai 14-inch. The Cabin Max listing does not mention a laptop compartment.
4Trolley strap: Lossga lists a built-in luggage trolley strap, Cabin Max a rear trolley strap, VSNOON a luggage strap that slides over a suitcase's upright handle, Taygeer a back luggage strap for attaching to a suitcase and VANKEV a luggage strap. The Xkdoai listing does not mention one.
5Fabric and warranty: VANKEV and VSNOON list water-resistant fabric, Lossga water-resistant polyester, Taygeer a water-resistant exterior and Xkdoai water repellent fabric; the Cabin Max listing names recycled polyester and makes no water-resistance claim. Water-resistant is not waterproof. Cabin Max states a 3 year manufacturer's warranty; none of the other five listings states a warranty term.
Our process
How do we choose our picks?
We don’t lab-test products ourselves. Instead we synthesise current Amazon UK listings and published specs into clear, honest recommendations. We earn a commission if you buy through our links, but that never changes which products we rank.
Current UK availability
We check each pick against live Amazon UK catalogue data rather than last year’s model lists. Stock moves fast, so a listing can sell out after we publish.
Published specs
We compare manufacturer specifications so each pick is right for a real budget and use-case.
UK-specific fit
We factor in UK voltage and plug/fitting standards — details that generic global lists miss.
Suits a traveller who wants a stated warranty: the listing gives 3 years, a 24-litre soft-sided body with compression straps and a size of 40 x 30 x 20 cm, the size of Ryanair's free under-seat bag.
Listed Size
40 x 30 x 20 cm
Capacity
24-litre interior
Material
Recycled polyester
Warranty
3 year manufacturer's warranty
Trolley Strap
Rear trolley strap
What we like
+3 year manufacturer's warranty stated on the listing, with UK based customer support
+Soft-sided body with compression straps and a 24-litre interior
+Anti-theft rear hidden zipped pocket for a passport and valuables
+Rear trolley strap and a bottle holder
Worth noting
–The listing does not mention a laptop compartment
–The listing makes no water-resistance claim for the fabric
£27.95£35.49−21%Amazon.co.uk price as of 23 Oct, 13:00 (London time). Details
Lossga 24L Underseat Travel Backpack 40x30x20 with Chest Clasp
Suits a traveller with a 14-inch laptop and a wheeled suitcase: the listing states 24L, a trolley strap and a chest strap, at a listed 40 x 30 x 20 cm.
Listed Size
40 x 30 x 20 cm
Capacity
24L
Laptop Compartment
14-inch
Material
Scratch-resistant, water-resistant polyester
Trolley Strap
Built-in luggage trolley strap
What we like
+24L with a 14-inch laptop compartment, a wet bag and front and side pockets
+Built-in luggage trolley strap for a wheeled suitcase and a concealed anti-theft pocket
+Adjustable chest strap, padded S-shaped shoulder straps and a sponge back panel
+Scratch-resistant, water-resistant polyester with reinforced stitching
Worth noting
–The listing notes a 2–3 cm margin of error from manual measurement
–The listing states no warranty term
£18.99£27.99−32%Amazon.co.uk price as of 23 Oct, 13:00 (London time). Details
Taygeer 40x30x20 Underseat Travel Backpack with Shoe Pouch
Suits a traveller who packs shoes and a 15.6 inch laptop: the listing states a separate shoe pouch, a laptop compartment and a luggage strap, at a listed 40 x 30 x 20 cm.
Listed Size
40 x 30 x 20 cm
Laptop Compartment
15.6 inch
Material
Nylon, polyester lining, metal zips
Extras
Separate shoe pouch, wet pocket
Trolley Strap
Back luggage strap
What we like
+Separate laptop compartment for a 15.6 inch laptop
+Separate shoe pouch and a wet pocket of water-resistant material
+Main compartment opens fully to 180 like a suitcase
+Back luggage strap for attaching to a suitcase, plus side buckles
Worth noting
–The listing does not state a capacity in litres
–The listing states no warranty term
£16.99£29.99−43%Amazon.co.uk price as of 23 Oct, 13:00 (London time). Details
Product prices and availability are accurate as of 23 Oct, 13:00 (London time) and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
Editor's Note
All six listings give a size of 40 x 30 x 20 cm, but they disclose different things. Cabin Max is the one listing here that states a warranty; the Taygeer listing gives no capacity, the Cabin Max listing mentions no laptop compartment and the VSNOON listing gives no weight. Lossga and Xkdoai are the two that note a 2–3 cm measuring tolerance.
Our Take
As a default, the VANKEV: 24L, a laptop compartment for up to 16 inches, water-resistant fabric and a luggage strap, all stated on its listing. For a stated warranty, the Cabin Max and its 3 year manufacturer's warranty; for a clear toiletry bag in the box and a 14 inch laptop compartment, the Xkdoai.
Questions & answers
Frequently asked questions
What size is Ryanair's free cabin bag?
Ryanair's free small bag, which goes under the seat in front, is 40 x 30 x 20 cm. Every bag in this guide is listed at that size: VANKEV, Cabin Max, Lossga, VSNOON, Taygeer and Xkdoai.
Does a packed bag stay at its listed size?
Not always. A soft bag stuffed full can exceed its listed size. Lossga notes a 2–3 cm margin of error from manual measurement, and Xkdoai gives its fully packed size as approximately 40×30×20 cm with a 2-3 cm tolerance.
How many litres is a 40x30x20 cabin bag?
Five of the six listings here state 24L or 24 litres: VANKEV, Cabin Max, Lossga, VSNOON and Xkdoai. The Taygeer listing does not state a capacity.
Which Ryanair-size backpacks have a laptop compartment?
VANKEV (up to 16 inches), Taygeer (15.6 inch), VSNOON (15 inch), Lossga (14-inch) and Xkdoai (14 inch). The Cabin Max listing does not mention a laptop compartment.
Which of these cabin bags attach to a suitcase handle?
Lossga lists a built-in luggage trolley strap, Cabin Max a rear trolley strap, VSNOON a luggage strap that slides over a suitcase's upright handle and Taygeer a back luggage strap; VANKEV lists a luggage strap. The Xkdoai listing does not mention one.
Do any of these bags come with a warranty?
Cabin Max states a 3 year manufacturer's warranty, backed by a UK company. The VANKEV, Lossga, VSNOON, Taygeer and Xkdoai listings state no warranty term.
Affiliate disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. UKPicks earns a small commission from qualifying purchases made via links on this page. This does not affect our editorial recommendations or the price you pay.