BBy Bikram Nath·Researched from UK Amazon listings·Updated 2026-10-09·5 products compared
What are the best laptops under £400 to buy in the UK?
Our top pick for Laptops Under £400 in the UK is the Acer Aspire Go 15 AG15-32P Laptop (Intel N150, 8GB, 128GB).
The Acer Aspire Go 15 AG15-32P Laptop suits a buyer who wants a 15.6" Full HD screen with 8GB of RAM and a stated battery life of up to 8 hours; confirm the operating system on the Amazon page, because the listing text does not name it.
Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. This guide contains Amazon affiliate links, and we may earn a commission — at no extra cost to you — but it never changes our rankings.
The Acer Aspire Go 15 AG15-32P is our top pick among laptops under £400 because its listing states an Intel N150 processor, 8GB of RAM, 128GB of storage, a 15.6" Full HD (1920x1080) display, a battery life of up to 8 hours from a single charge, dual-band Wi-Fi 6 and a 1 year manufacturer warranty; it does not name the operating system or the storage type. For Windows 11 and an SSD named on the listing, the ASUS Vivobook 15 E1504FA states Windows 11, 8GB RAM and a 128GB PCIe SSD, though its listing says no power adaptor is supplied. For a Windows edition and a port list in writing, the Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 3 Gen 8 states Windows 11 Home, with 4 GB of RAM and 128 GB of UFS 3.1 storage.
This guide compares five laptops from Acer, ASUS, LEEDOW and Lenovo, using what each listing states: processor, RAM, storage, screen, operating system, battery and warranty. Stated RAM runs from 4 GB to 8GB and stated storage from 128GB to 256GB. Two listings name Windows 11; the other three do not name an operating system.
Buying guide
What should you look for in Laptops Under £400?
1Operating system: the Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 3 Gen 8 states Windows 11 Home with an Office trial, and the ASUS Vivobook 15 states Windows 11 without an edition. The two Acer Aspire Go listings and the LEEDOW listing do not name an operating system, so confirm it on the Amazon page before buying.
2Processor and RAM: the Lenovo lists an Intel N100 with 4 GB of RAM; both Acer Aspire Go laptops list an Intel N150 with 8GB; the ASUS lists an AMD Ryzen 3 30, as written on the listing, with 8GB; the LEEDOW lists a Core i7 processor with 8GB but gives no model number.
3Storage: check the type as well as the size. The Lenovo states 128 GB of UFS 3.1 storage, the ASUS a 128GB PCIe SSD and the LEEDOW a 256GB SSD. Both Acer listings say 128GB of storage without naming the type.
4Screen: the Lenovo and the LEEDOW are 14 inch with 1920 × 1080 stated. The Acer AG14-32P's bullets state 14" WUXGA (1920x1200), although its title says Aspire Go 15. The Acer AG15-32P states 15.6" Full HD (1920x1080), and the ASUS states 15.6" Full HD without a pixel figure.
5Battery and charging: both Acer listings state up to 8 hours from a single charge. The Lenovo states a 47Wh battery and up to 2 hours of use from 15 minutes of charging, and the LEEDOW a 51.9Wh battery; neither gives a total battery life in hours. The ASUS states no battery figure and says a power adaptor is not supplied.
Our process
How do we choose our picks?
We don’t lab-test products ourselves. Instead we synthesise current Amazon UK listings and published specs into clear, honest recommendations. We earn a commission if you buy through our links, but that never changes which products we rank.
Current UK availability
We check each pick against live Amazon UK catalogue data rather than last year’s model lists. Stock moves fast, so a listing can sell out after we publish.
Published specs
We compare manufacturer specifications so each pick is right for a real budget and use-case.
UK-specific fit
We factor in UK voltage and plug/fitting standards — details that generic global lists miss.
47Wh; up to 2 hours of use from 15 minutes of charging with Rapid Charge Boost (per listing)
USB C
External monitor at up to 4K, data transfer and charging over a single cable (per listing)
—
External monitor at up to 4K, data transfer and charging over a single cable (per listing)
—
—
Webcam And Wi Fi
HD webcam with TNR technology, dual microphones with AI noise reduction; dual-band Wi-Fi 6
—
HD webcam with TNR technology, dual microphones with AI noise reduction; dual-band Wi-Fi 6
—
—
The rankings
The best Laptops Under £400, ranked
1
Acer
Top Pick
Acer Aspire Go 15 AG15-32P Laptop (Intel N150, 8GB, 128GB)
The Acer Aspire Go 15 AG15-32P Laptop suits a buyer who wants a 15.6" Full HD screen with 8GB of RAM and a stated battery life of up to 8 hours; confirm the operating system on the Amazon page, because the listing text does not name it.
Processor
Intel N150
Memory And Storage
8GB RAM, 128GB of storage (type not stated)
Screen
15.6" Full HD (1920x1080)
Battery
Up to 8 hours from a single charge (per listing)
USB C
External monitor at up to 4K, data transfer and charging over a single cable (per listing)
Webcam And Wi Fi
HD webcam with TNR technology, dual microphones with AI noise reduction; dual-band Wi-Fi 6
Warranty
1 year manufacturer
What we like
+8GB of RAM and a 15.6" Full HD (1920x1080) display
+Battery that the listing says lasts up to 8 hours from a single charge
+USB-C port that the listing says can display up to 4K on an external monitor, transfer data and charge the laptop
+HD webcam with TNR technology, dual microphones with AI noise reduction and dual-band Wi-Fi 6
Worth noting
–The listing does not name the operating system; it mentions only a Microsoft Copilot keyboard key
–Storage is given as 128GB with no type stated
–The listing names no port other than USB-C
£335.07Amazon.co.uk price as of 12 Oct, 01:00 (London time). Details
The ASUS Vivobook 15 E1504FA Laptop suits a buyer who wants Windows 11 named on the listing with 8GB RAM and a 15.6 inch Full HD screen, and who already owns a USB-C 65W charger, since the listing says none is supplied.
Processor
AMD Ryzen 3 30 (as written on the listing)
Memory And Storage
8GB RAM, 128GB PCIe SSD
Screen
15.6" Full HD
Operating System
Windows 11 (edition not stated)
Keyboard
UK layout
Charger
Not supplied; the listing says the laptop is compatible with any USB-C 65W charger
Warranty
1 Year Manufacturer
What we like
+Windows 11 is named in the listing title
+8GB RAM combined with a 128GB PCIe SSD
+15.6 inch Full HD screen and a UK layout keyboard
+1 Year Manufacturer warranty stated
Worth noting
–No charger in the box: the listing says a power adaptor is not supplied and that any USB-C 65W charger is compatible
–The listing states no battery life or battery capacity
–The listing gives no port list and does not name the Windows 11 edition
£349.99Amazon.co.uk price as of 12 Oct, 01:00 (London time). Details
The Acer Aspire Go AG14-32P Laptop suits a buyer who wants 8GB of RAM and a stated battery life of up to 8 hours with a 14" WUXGA (1920x1200) display; its bullets otherwise match the other Acer on this page word for word, and the screen size should be confirmed on the Amazon page because the title says Aspire Go 15.
Processor
Intel N150
Memory And Storage
8GB RAM, 128GB of storage (type not stated)
Screen
14" WUXGA (1920x1200), per the bullets
Battery
Up to 8 hours from a single charge (per listing)
USB C
External monitor at up to 4K, data transfer and charging over a single cable (per listing)
Webcam And Wi Fi
HD webcam with TNR technology, dual microphones with AI noise reduction; dual-band Wi-Fi 6
Warranty
1 year manufacturer
What we like
+14" WUXGA (1920x1200) display, per the bullets
+8GB of RAM, and a battery that the listing says lasts up to 8 hours from a single charge
+USB-C port that the listing says can display up to 4K on an external monitor, transfer data and charge the laptop
+HD webcam with TNR technology, dual microphones with AI noise reduction and dual-band Wi-Fi 6
Worth noting
–The title reads Aspire Go 15, while the model code (AG14-32P), the bullets (Aspire Go 14, 14" display) and the product information (14-inch) describe a 14-inch laptop
–The listing does not name the operating system; it mentions only a Microsoft Copilot keyboard key
–Storage is given as 128GB with no type stated
£307.38Amazon.co.uk price as of 12 Oct, 01:00 (London time). Details
The LEEDOW 14 Inch Portable Laptop suits a buyer who wants the largest stated storage here and a wired network port: 256GB SSD, 8GB RAM and 9 listed ports including RJ45 Ethernet, though the listing names neither the exact processor nor the operating system.
Processor
Core i7 processor
Memory And Storage
8GB RAM, 256GB SSD
Screen
14 inch, 1920×1080 Full HD, 180° lay-flat design
Ports
9 ports including USB 3.0×3, Type-C, HDMI, DC Port, SD card slot, RJ45 Ethernet and 3.5mm audio jack
Wireless And Battery
WiFi 5 and Bluetooth 4.2; 51.9Wh battery
Weight
1.37KG in the bullets; 1.39 Kilograms in the product information
Warranty
1 year manufacturer
What we like
+256GB SSD, the largest stated storage on this page
+9 ports listed, including USB 3.0×3, HDMI, RJ45 Ethernet and an SD card slot
+14 inch 1920×1080 Full HD display with a 180° lay-flat design
+51.9Wh battery and a 1 year manufacturer warranty stated
Worth noting
–The listing says only Core i7 processor; it gives no model number or generation
Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 3 Gen 8 14 inch FHD Laptop (Intel N100, 4 GB RAM, 128 GB UFS 3.1)
The Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 3 Gen 8 14 inch FHD Laptop suits a buyer who wants the operating system, storage type and ports stated before buying: Windows 11 Home, Intel N100, 4 GB RAM, 128 GB UFS 3.1 and a 1 year warranty, per the listing.
Processor
Intel N100 with Integrated UHD Graphics
Memory And Storage
4 GB RAM, 128 GB UFS 3.1
Screen
14 inch FHD, 1920 × 1080, 16:9 aspect ratio
Operating System
Windows 11 Home, with Office trial
Battery
47Wh; up to 2 hours of use from 15 minutes of charging with Rapid Charge Boost (per listing)
Ports And Wireless
USB-C 3.2, two USB 3.2 ports, HDMI 1.4, SD card reader; Wi-Fi 6
Warranty
1 year
What we like
+The listing names the operating system and edition: Windows 11 Home, with an Office trial
+Ports are listed: USB-C 3.2 for charging, display output and data transfer, two USB 3.2 ports, an HDMI 1.4 port and an SD card reader
+47Wh battery with Rapid Charge Boost, which the listing says gives up to 2 hours of use from 15 minutes of charging
+The listing cites TÜV Rheinland Low Blue Light and MIL-STD-810H military-grade durability
Worth noting
–4 GB of RAM, the smallest stated memory on this page
–The listing gives the battery capacity (47Wh) but no battery life in hours
–The listing does not mention the webcam or the keyboard layout
£267.16£319.99−17%Amazon.co.uk price as of 12 Oct, 01:00 (London time). Details
Product prices and availability are accurate as of 12 Oct, 01:00 (London time) and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
Editor's Note
These five listings disclose different things. The Lenovo names its Windows edition, storage type, ports and battery capacity; the two Acer listings give battery life, webcam and Wi-Fi detail but no operating system or storage type; the ASUS names Windows 11 and a PCIe SSD but no port list or battery figure; the LEEDOW lists 9 ports and a battery capacity but no processor model or operating system. All five state a 1 year warranty.
Our Take
As a default, the Acer Aspire Go 15 AG15-32P: Intel N150, 8GB of RAM, a 15.6" Full HD (1920x1080) display and a stated battery life of up to 8 hours, with the caveat that its listing names no operating system. For Windows 11 named on the listing and a 128GB PCIe SSD, the ASUS Vivobook 15, whose listing says no power adaptor is supplied. For the largest stated storage, the LEEDOW with its 256GB SSD; for a stated Windows edition and port list, the Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 3 Gen 8, which states 4 GB of RAM.
Questions & answers
Frequently asked questions
Which laptops under £400 come with Windows 11?
Two listings on this page name it. The Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 3 Gen 8 states Windows 11 Home with an Office trial, and the ASUS Vivobook 15 E1504FA states Windows 11 without naming the edition. The two Acer Aspire Go listings and the LEEDOW listing do not name an operating system, so confirm it on the Amazon page before buying.
How much RAM does a laptop under £400 have?
On this page, stated RAM is 4 GB on the Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 3 Gen 8 and 8GB on the other four: both Acer Aspire Go laptops, the ASUS Vivobook 15 and the LEEDOW.
Is the storage on these laptops an SSD?
Two listings say so: the ASUS Vivobook 15 states a 128GB PCIe SSD and the LEEDOW a 256GB SSD. The Lenovo states 128 GB of UFS 3.1 storage. Both Acer Aspire Go listings state 128GB of storage without naming the type.
How long does the battery last on these laptops?
Both Acer Aspire Go listings state up to 8 hours from a single charge. The Lenovo states a 47Wh battery and up to 2 hours of use from 15 minutes of charging, and the LEEDOW a 51.9Wh battery; neither gives a total in hours. The ASUS Vivobook 15 listing states no battery figure.
Do these laptops come with a charger?
The ASUS Vivobook 15 listing says a power adaptor is not supplied and that the laptop is compatible with any USB-C 65W charger. The other four listings do not say whether a charger is in the box. The Lenovo and both Acer listings describe charging over USB-C, and the LEEDOW lists a DC Port.
How heavy are these laptops?
The LEEDOW is the only listing here that states a weight in its bullets: 1.37KG, while its product information gives 1.39 Kilograms. The other four give a weight only in the product information: 2.9 lb for the Lenovo, 3.2 lb for the Acer AG14-32P, 3.6 lb for the ASUS Vivobook 15 and 3.8 lb for the Acer AG15-32P.
Affiliate disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. UKPicks earns a small commission from qualifying purchases made via links on this page. This does not affect our editorial recommendations or the price you pay.